Common Manual Elects Leaders for 2009-2010

The Governing Board of the *Common Manual*, Unified Student Loan Policy has chosen it leaders from amongst the guaranty agencies that comprise the *Common Manual* for the 2009-10 year. This is as strong group of dedicated agency personnel that will continue to provide our partners with the most comprehensive and complete FFEL program manual.

The Executive Management team will be led by Ms. Mary Heid, of the Oklahoma Guaranteed Student Loan Program as Chair. Ms. Heid holds the position as Director of Policy, Compliance and Training in her agency.

Ms. Cheryl Hughes with the South Carolina Student Loan Corporation, Ms. Reitha Scott of the Florida Office of Student Financial Assistance, and Mr. Joe Bradley with the New York Higher Education Services Corporation begin the second year of their terms as Treasurer, Production Director, and Communications Director respectively.

Our Policy Committee is staffed with a variety of talented individuals also, with many years of experience in the complicated world of financial aid and the loan program. Ms. Carolyn Small and Ms. Carol Egan will be co-chairs of this committee. Carolyn is with the Iowa College Student Aid Commission and has 15 years of experience in the program. Carol is with the Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency (AES/PHEAA) with approximately15 years of experience in the program.

New members elected for a two year term beginning August 2009 are: Ms. Michelle Anderson with the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation, Ms. Susan Fields with the Illinois Student Assistance Commission, Mr. Randy Lovins, National Student Loan Program and Ms. Shari Mecca with the Connecticut Student Loan Foundation. Together, these professionals have over 70 years of experience. The *Common Manual* welcomes them to the Policy Committee, and knows their dedication and desire will be a great benefit to our program participants.

Continuing in their term on the Policy Committee are Mr. Brendan Furey with American Student Assistance, Ms. Stephanie Aylor with Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation, Ms. Brenda Grady with USA Funds and Ms. Jessica Hartung with the Education Assistance Corporation, Ms. Nancy Masten with Great Lakes, Ms. Onaleah McClellan with Florida Department of Education, and Ms. Beryl Schantz of Ed Fund. Non-Voting members also in their second year of their terms are Ms. Betsy Adams with Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency (AES/PHEAA) and Ms. Kelly Kaelin of the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation. Congratulations to all.