

**Unified Student Loan Policy** 

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 2006

*For More Information, Contact: Joe Bradley, Communications Director (518) 473-1575* 

## Common Manual Leadership Changes

The *Common Manual* Governing Board is pleased to announce the following changes to its Executive Management Committee Team leadership for the 2006–2007 fiscal year, along with Policy Committee members for the 2006-08 fiscal years, which begin August 1, 2006. The Executive Management Committee coordinates the annual update and production of the *Common Manual* and e-Collection CD-ROM. The Policy Committee researches, drafts, edits and maintains all policy proposals approved for the *Common Manual*.

Ms. Jacki Fairbairn, Director of Policy and Regulatory Compliance for Great Lakes Higher Education Guaranty Corporation, begins her term as Chair of the Governing Board on August 1, 2006. Ms. Fairbairn has been involved with the *Common Manual* since its inception, and has served as a past member and Chair of the Policy Committee. Ms. Fairbairn brings twenty years' experience in the FFEL Program to this position.

Ms. Nina Hold, Assistant Vice President, Policy and Regulatory Affairs for the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation, was elected to the Production Director position on the Common Manual Executive Management Team. Ms. Hold has been the Texas representative on the Governing Board since inception of the *Common Manual* having served the Governing Board as a past Chair. Ms. Hold has worked in student financial assistance for 22 years, and has been very active in a variety of FFEL Program national committees.

Ms. Cheryl Hughes, the Compliance and Training officer for the South Carolina Student Loan Corporation, was elected to the position of Treasurer for the Common Manual Executive Management Team. Ms. Hughes has been a member of the Common Manual's Policy Committee and Editing subcommittee, and brings 25 years of experience in the FFEL Program to this position.

Mr. Joe Bradley, Director of Regulatory Compliance, Office of Counsel for the New York State Higher Education Services Corporation (HESC), was elected to the Communications Director position on the Common Manual Executive Team. Mr. Bradley has worked in HESC for over 27 years, and is responsible for the policy and enforcement of the agency's loan and grants program, and has served as a past Chair of the Governing Board.

All Executive Management Committee members serve a two year term, beginning August 1, 2006 and ending on July 31, 2008.

The Policy Committee for the *Common Manual* had 6 members elected to that committee and 2 more members elected to their sub-committees.

Ms. Carolyn Small, Policy Analyst and trainer for the Iowa College Student Aid Commission, begins a one-year term as Co-Chair of the Policy Committee on August 1. Previously a Policy Analyst for the Missouri guarantor, Carolyn has been working with federal student aid program policy for over ten years and has cumulatively served the Policy committee as an active, voting member for approximately seven years.

Ms. Susan Fields of the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) will start a second term on the committee. For ISAC, Ms. Fields is responsible for the monitoring and researching of federal, state, lender, and school issues, and reporting the results to her agency staff.

Mr. Kevin Burke of American Student Assistance (ASA), and current Co-Chair of the Policy Committee, has almost 10 years experience in the FFEL program. Prior to ASA, Mr. Burke worked for Nellie Mae in their Loan Origination and Servicer Conversions division.

Ms. Onaleah McClellan of the Florida Department of Education is the agency's Program Specialist for all Institutional and Lender Eligibility. Ms. McClellan has served two terms on the policy committee and was a Research Assistant for Instructional Materials for Florida's public schools.

Ms. Diana Oglesby is a Senior Policy Analyst with the National Student Loan Program (NSLP). Ms. Oglesby has been with NSLP since March, 2000 and participates in various NCHELP committees in addition to being a member of the Governing Board.

Ms. Nancy Masten is a Senior Policy Analyst with the Great Lakes Higher Education Guaranty Corporation. Ms. Masten has over 16 years experience in the student loan industry, and is a current member of the NCHELP Program Regulation Committee.

Ms. Carol Egan is a Policy Analyst with American Education Services (AES). With 7 years experience in this position, Ms. Egan serves as the agency resource on applicable federal law and regulation of the FFEL program.

For the Policy Committee's Editing Chair, Ms. Kelly Kaelin of the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation was elected. Justin Kummel of American Education Services will serve on the Administrative sub-committee.

All positions begin on August 1, 2006 and run through July 31, 2008. The Governing Board would like to thank these individuals and their agencies for allowing them to perform the required duties of these positions for the betterment of our students, schools, and lenders in the FFEL program.

\* \* \*

First published in December 1995, the Common Manual is a cooperative effort of the 36 guarantors that participate in the Federal Family Education Loan Program (FFELP). The manual, one of a number of efforts by guarantors to simplify and streamline the FFELP for schools and lenders, provides a single, standardized set of current student loan rules and FFELP policy guidance for schools and lenders. Guarantors provide the Common Manual in a user-friendly, searchable electronic format to thousands of colleges, universities, and financial institutions nationwide via Web-based and compact disk formats. Some also provide the manual in print.

